susapaster.blogg.se

Smc fan control mac 2.4
Smc fan control mac 2.4




smc fan control mac 2.4
  1. #Smc fan control mac 2.4 how to
  2. #Smc fan control mac 2.4 install
  3. #Smc fan control mac 2.4 driver
  4. #Smc fan control mac 2.4 full

Having just swapped out my sons failing 2006 iMac for a 2010 model, I found a previous owner had removed the HDD sensor when they installed a SSD, so the internal fans were all running at full speed, upwards of 6000rpm and they were loud, very very loud. Doing a deep cleaning of the case and the PSU already won a few degrees.įirst and foremost, I do not run Ubuntu, I run MX Linux, but with MX Linux being Debian compliant and Ubuntu have a similar Debian type base, the same tools should work just fine.

#Smc fan control mac 2.4 install

I am thinking about making holes in the case to reduce the heat passively, or to somehow install a new fan directly on the PSU. It is the Power Supply Unit (PSU) that is overheating, not the GPU as I previously stated. So I guess I will rather work on the cause: I don't think I can change this value anywhere, which is sad because I think it really would not go much higher than this. The CPU fan then increase its speed until the temp reduces, but there is a long delay for it to be effective, so usually 10 really loud minutes. So I can now control my 3 fans, set a min speed, a floor and a ceiling, which is a success!īut even with a high initial speed, I still get a burst some times after booting when the Tp0P sensor reaches 84 degrees. I recompiled it with the change proposed here because it was otherwise not controling the CPU fan. I found a way to control all 3 fans of my imac (cpu, HD, Optical Drive): macfanctld (see ) OK, I advanced a bit on my side, replying here in case it is one day helpful for someone else. Here is the output of sensors if that helps applesmc-isa-0300

#Smc fan control mac 2.4 driver

Could it be that there is a better driver somewhere that would lead to it heating less? This is happening while browsing internet or even not doing anything, so it's not linked to complex graphics calculations. So: can fancontrol work? if not, do you have any other ideas?Īctually, I realise the problem seem to come from the GPU, since temp1 seems to be in the Radeon PCI section. Also, if it can work, I am unsure what should be the path of each fan to put in that file and whre I could find an example of settings file. But I am not sure this can work, because maybe fancontrol can only control PWM fans and somehow imac fans are not PWM. So I could simply make this settings file myself and set up a min speed of 200 RPM for the CPU fan. Pwmconfig is "just" a helper to create the fancontrol settings file. I also tried to install mbpfan: But it is meant for macbooks and not for imacs, with the result that only one sensor seems to be taken into account, then all fan speed are raised simultaneously, which is not helping in my case (see ) What I think could work but not sure how

#Smc fan control mac 2.4 how to

I tried to follow the steps described here: How to control fan speed?, so basically set up lm-sensors, then set up fancontrol with the help of pwmconfig But pwmconfig answers: There are no pwm-capable sensor modules installed Even after adding the module applesmc to /etc/modules and rebooting, no chance. This is annoying because I think with a fix speed set to 2000 RPM for example, the temp would stabilise at an acceptable temperature, hopefully below 90☌, while the noise would still be acceptable. This do lower the temp of these 2 sensors, until aournd 80☌, but this is not cool enough to reduce the fan speed. This fan gradually accelerate until its max, 3600 RPM, which makes the imac very loud. Here is a screenshot of psensor: psensor screenshotīasically, 2 sensors, TD0D and temp1 see an increase in temperature until reaching 105☌, which triggers the increase of the CPU fan speed. While it runs smoothly for all I need to do, 20 minutes after starting the CPU fan starts to get super loud. I switched an old Imac (2008) to Lubuntu.






Smc fan control mac 2.4